Skip to main content

Social Security Regional Office

The Social Security Administration provides millions of disabled Americans with benefits if they reside within one of the 50 states. In order to properly handle this volume of claimants the SSA has structured their Social Security Disability department into 10 different regions throughout the United States. These regional offices employ over 60,000 federal employees spanning 1,300 social security field offices and 8 applicant processing centers.

The rules and regulations to receive an approval for Social Security Disability fluctuate depending on the applicant’s residency. Each regional headquarter is compiled of multiple states with offices that are responsible for maintain these different standards of approval. To inquiry further on information regarding the region an applicant resides in and their local office please click on the state which is linked below.

Click Your Regional Office Location For Local State Offices

Regional Headquarter #1 Boston

The states included in this region:

  • Connecticut
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont

Regional Headquarter #2 New York

This Region includes states:

  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Puerto Rico
  • U.S. Virgin Islands

Regional Headquarter #3 Philadelphia

The States included in this region:

  • Delaware
  • Maryland
  • Pennsylvania
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • District of Colombia

Regional Headquarter #4 Atlanta

This Region includes states:

  • Alabama
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee

Regional Headquarter #5 Chicago

The States included in this region:

  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Ohio
  • Wisconsin

Regional Headquarter #6 Dallas

This region includes states:

  • Arkansas
  • Louisiana
  • New Mexico
  • Oklahoma
  • Texas

Regional Headquarter #7 Kansas City

The States included in this region:

  • Iowa
  • Nebraska
  • Kansas
  • Missouri

Regional Headquarter #8 Denver

This region includes states:

  • Colorado
  • Montana
  • North Dakota
  • South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Wyoming

Regional Headquarter #9 San Francisco

The States included in this region:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Hawaii
  • Nevada
  • Guam
  • American Samoa
  • Northern Marina

Regional Headquarter #10 Seattle

This region includes states:

  • Alaska
  • Idaho
  • Oregon
  • Washington