Skip to main content

Skin Disorders

With such a broad range of disabling conditions, the Social Security Administration created a guide for their own representatives and patient’s doctors to determine if an applicant potentially qualifies for Social Security disability benefits. This guide, called the Blue Book, divides general impairments into 14 categories where each category lays out the restrictions and specifications of common disorders. The eighth category deals with skin disorders.

This section is divided into 7 broad subsections where each subsection is specific toward a particular skin disease or condition. If your skin disorder is not within one of the subsections, you may still potentially qualify for benefits if the severity and location of your skin disorder hinders your ability to perform basic work tasks. Below is a list of the 7 subsections:

Bluebook Categories:

  • Bullous Diseases
  • Burns
  • Chronic mucous membrane or skin infections
  • Dermatitis
  • Genetic Photosensitivity Disorders
  • Hidradenitis Suppurtiva
  • Ichthyosis

Other Conditions evaluated under this category:

  • Cellulitis
  • Chronic Skin Diseases
  • Dermatomyositis
  • Hidradenitis Suppurativa
  • Shingles