Skip to main content

Special Senses and Speech

The Social Security Administration has a “disability manual” called the Blue Book that is designed to help physicians and SSA representatives determine if a claimant potentially qualifies for disability benefits. The Blue Book divides general impairments into 14 different categories where each category lays out the restrictions and specifications of common disorders. The second category out of the 14 consists of impairments related to special senses and speech.

The special senses and speech category deals with sight, hearing, and speech impairments. Several disorders that cause vertigo are also considered within section. The Blue Book lists the specifications as to what qualifies special senses and speech conditions for disability benefits.

Bluebook Categories:


Other conditions evaluated under this category:

  • Auditory Processing Disorder
  • Dizziness
  • Loss of Speech
  • Macular Degeneration
  • Meniere's Disease
  • Otolaryngology (Hearing Loss)
  • Partial Sight
  • Retinitis Pigmentosa
  • Vertigo
  • Vision Loss
  • Visual Acuity or Efficiency