Skip to main content

Neurological Diseases

Whenever an applicant makes a claim, a representative of the Social Security Administration will evaluate your case by using the guidelines set in the document called the Blue Book. The Blue Book divides similar conditions into 14 different categories where each category specifies the requirements necessary for particular impairments to be considered disabling. Neurological disorders make up the eleventh category.

There are 16 subsections in category 11 and each of them has their own restrictions for a particular condition(s). If your condition is not listed in one of the 16 subsections, you may still qualify for disability benefits depending on the severity of your condition. The subsections are listed below:

Bluebook Categories:

  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS, Lou Gehrig’s Syndrome)
  • Anterior Poliomyelitis
  • Brain tumors
  • Central nervous system vascular accidents
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Cerebral trauma
  • Epilepsy
  • Lesions of the spinal cord or nerve roots
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Myasthenia Gravis
  • Other degenerative diseases
  • Parkinsonian Syndrome
  • Peripheral Neuropathies
  • Sub-acute combined cord degeneration
  • Syringomyelia

Other Conditions evaluated under this category:

  • Acoustic Neuroma
  • Arnold-Chiari Malformation
  • Dystonia
  • Benign Brain Tumor
  • Chronic Migraines
  • Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS)
  • Guillain-Barre Syndrome
  • Headaches
  • Hydrocephalus
  • Motor Neuron Disease
  • Narcolepsy
  • Neuralgia
  • Neuropathy
  • Parkinson's Disease
  • Seizure Disorder
  • Stroke (Cerebrovascular Accident)
  • Syringomyelia
  • Transverse Myelitis
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Tourette's Syndrome
  • Von Hippel-Lindau