Skip to main content

Musculoskeletal System

With the assistance of several physicians and medical experts, the Social Security Administration developed the Blue Book. The Blue Book functions as a guide to determine if an applicant qualifies for disability benefits. The Book separates impairments into 14 broad categories and each category has it’s own specifications for qualification. The first out the 14 categories deals with musculoskeletal system disorders.

Category 1 of the Blue Book lists specific requirements for several musculoskeletal disorders. However, the Social Security Administration will accept most musculoskeletal disorders as long as it proves to inhibit your ability to move and perform tasks effectively.

Bluebook Categories:

  • Amputations
  • Fractures
  • Joints
  • Spine


Other conditions evaluated under this category:

  • Anterior Poliomyelitis
  • Apert syndrome
  • Avascular Necrosis
  • Back Pain
  • Bone Spurs
  • Bursitis
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Club Foot Deformity
  • Cubital Tunnel Syndrome
  • Degenerative Disc Disease
  • Dwarfism
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Fracture of the Femur, Tibia, or Pelvis
  • Fracture of an Upper Extremity
  • Gout
  • Hernia
  • Herniated Disc
  • Hip Replacement
  • Inflammatory Arthritis
  • Joint Pain
  • Knee Replacement
  • Low Birth Weight
  • Lumbar Stenosis
  • Lyme Disease
  • Major Dysfunction of a Joint
  • Nerve Root Compression
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Neck Pain and Neck Problems
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Osteomalacia
  • Osteoporosis
  • Paralysis
  • Piriformis Syndrome
  • Reflex Sympathetic Disorder
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Ruptured Disc
  • Scoliosis
  • Shoulder Pain and Shoulder Problems
  • Shoulder Replacement
  • Soft Tissue Injury (Burns)
  • Spina Bifida
  • Spinal Arachnoiditis
  • Spinal Cord Injury
  • Spinal Fusion
  • Spine Disorders
  • Torn ACL
  • Undifferentiated and Mixed Connective Tissue Disease
  • Whiplash