Skip to main content

Malignant Neoplastic Diseases

Representatives of the Social Security Administration use the guidelines set in the Blue Book to evaluate a case whenever an applicant makes a claim. The Blue Book separates disabling conditions into 14 categories where each category describes the requirements necessary for those impairments to be approved for benefits. Malignant Neoplastic diseases make up the thirteenth category.

Malignant Neoplastic diseases include a vast number of various cancers. Within this category there are 27 subsections and all of them have their own specifications to qualify for benefits. You may still qualify for disability benefits if your cancerous condition is not listed within one of the 27 subsections. The subsections are listed below:

Bluebook Categories:

  • Adrenal glands, kidneys, ureters
  • Breast
  • Diseases treated by stem cell transplantation or bone marrow transplantation
  • Gall bladder or liver
  • Genital tract (female)
  • Leukemia
  • Lungs
  • Lymphoma
  • Mediastinum or pleura
  • Multiple myeloma
  • Nervous system
  • Large intestines
  • Pancreas
  • Penis
  • Prostate gland
  • Salivary glands
  • Skeletal system
  • Skin
  • Small intestines
  • Soft tissue sarcoma
  • Soft tissue tumors of the neck or head
  • Stomach or esophagus
  • Temporal fossa, orbit, or maxilla
  • Testicles
  • Thyroid gland
  • Unknown original site
  • Urinary bladder

Other conditions evaluated under this category:

  • Brain Cancer
  • Acute Leukemia
  • Cancer
  • Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia
  • Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia
  • Colon Cancer
  • Early Stage Melanoma
  • Endometrial Cancer
  • Lymphoma
  • Macroglobulinemia
  • Mesothelioma
  • Myelofibrosis
  • Oral Cancers
  • Prostate Cancer
  • Testicular Cancer
  • Trabecular Cancer
  • Tumors