Skip to main content

Immune System Disorders

The Social Security Administration has a “disability manual” called the Blue Book that was created to assist doctors and SSA representatives determine if an applicant qualifies for Social Security benefits. The Blue Book divides similar impairments into 14 separate categories where each one lays out the restrictions and specifications of certain disorders to be approved. The fourteenth category focuses on immune system disorders.

This category is divided into 9 subsections where each one is geared toward particular immune system disorders and related conditions. If your disorder is not within one of the subsections, you still potentially qualify for disability benefits. Below is a list of the 9 subsections:

Bluebook Categories:

  • Connective tissue disease
  • HIV
  • Immune-deficiency disorders
  • Inflammatory arthritis
  • Lupus
  • Polymyositis/Dermatomyositis
  • Sjögren’s syndrome
  • Systemic sclerosis
  • Systemic vasculitis

Other Conditions evaluated under this category:

  • Ankylosing Spondylitis
  • Chronic Fatigue Syndrome
  • Epstein-Barr Virus
  • Psoriasis
  • Raynaud's Disease
  • Scleroderma