Skip to main content

Hematological Disorders

Whenever a claim is made, the Social Security Administration will evaluate your case based on the guidelines set in a “disability manual” called the Blue Book. The Blue Book divides common conditions into 14 broad categories where each category specifies the requirements necessary for certain impairments to be considered disabling. Hematological disorders make up the seventh category.

Category 7 deals with diseases and disorders of the blood. There are 9 subsections in this category and all of them have their own restrictions for a particular condition(s). If your condition is not within the 9 subsections, you may potentially qualify for benefits depending on the severity. The subsections are listed below:

Bluebook Categories:

  • Aplastic Anemia with Bone Marrow or Stem Cell Transplantation
  • Chronic Anemia
  • Chronic Granulocytopenia
  • Chronic Thrombocytopenia
  • Coagulation Defects and Hemophelia
  • Hereditary Telangiectasia
  • Polycythemia Vera
  • Sickle Cell Disease

Other Conditions evaluated under this category:

  • Hemochromatosis
  • Hemophilia
  • Fibromuscular Dysplasia
  • Multiple Myeloma
  • Systemic Vasculitis