Skip to main content

Genitourinary Impairments

In order to determine if an applicant’s disabling condition qualifies for disability benefits, the Social Security Administration developed the Blue Book to guide physicians and SSA representatives. The Blue Book groups common impairments into 14 different categories and lists the specifications of certain conditions within each category. The sixth category involves impairments of the genitourinary system.

The genitourinary system consists of the reproductive organs and the urinary system within an individual. There are 5 subsections within category 6 and each subsection is limited to a peculiar condition(s). You may still qualify for disability benefits if your condition is not within one of the subsections. Below is a list of the 5 subsections:

Bluebook Categories:

  • Chronic glomerulonephritis
  • Chronic obstructive uropathy
  • Diabetic nephropathy
  • Hereditary nephropathies, such as Alport Syndrome
  • Hypertensive renal vascular disease

Other Conditions evaluated under this category:

  • End Stage Renal Disease
  • Interstitial Cystitis
  • Kidney Dialysis
  • Kidney Disease
  • Nephrotic Disorder