Skip to main content

Endocrine Disorders

The Social Security Administration created a document known as the Blue Book, which acts as a disability guide for SSA representatives to reference to while determining if a claimant qualifies for disability benefits. The Book breaks up impairments into 14 common categories and each category has it’s own specifications for qualification. The ninth out the 14 categories deals with endocrine disorders.

Even though endocrine disorders have a category, they are evaluated using specifications in other categories based on what body or mental function is impaired. Category 9 is divided into 5 subsections that each deal with a group endocrine disorders and how to evaluate them in another category. Don’t stress if your endocrine disorder isn’t listed in one of the subsections, you may potentially qualify for disability benefits depending if it hinders your work capabilities. Below are the different subsections of category 9.

Bluebook Categories:

  • Adrenal Gland Disorders
  • Diabetes/ Hyperglycemia/ other pancreatic gland disorders
  • Parathyroid Gland Disorders
  • Thyroid Gland Disorders
  • Pituitary Gland Disorders

Other conditions evaluated under this category:

  • Diabetes
  • Obesity
  • Pancreatitis