Skip to main content

Congenital Disorders Affecting Multiple Body Systems

The Blue Book is the manual used by the Social Security Administration (SSA) to define what qualifies a disabling condition for disability benefits. The manual is divided into fourteen categories, each covering a broad range of conditions that affect a specific body part or function. The tenth category in the Blue Book lays out the qualifications for disabling conditions related to impairments that affect multiple body systems.

Category 10 is split into two subsections, Non-Mosaic Down’s Syndrome and all other conditions that affect multiple body systems. Most individuals (around 97%) who are diagnosed with Down syndrome have the non-mosaic version, which generally qualifies for disability benefits. Mosaic Down syndrome may also qualify but is grouped with all other impairments that affect multiple body systems. All other impairments that affect multiple body systems are evaluated using the requirements from other categories based on the body system affected.

Bluebook Categories:

  • Non-Mosaic Down’s Syndrome
  • All other conditions which affect multiple body systems

Other conditions that qualify:

  • Caudal Regression Syndrome
  • Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome
  • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
  • Fragile X Syndrome
  • Mosaic/Non-mosaic Down Syndrome
  • Phenylketonuria (PKU)
  • Reye's Syndrome
  • Trisomy X Syndrome (XXX Syndrome)