Skip to main content

Cardiovascular System

With the help of many physicians and medical experts, the Social Security Administration created the Blue Book. The Blue Book acts as a guide to determine if a claimant qualifies for disability benefits. The Book separates impairments into 14 broad categories and each category has it’s own specifications for qualification. The fourth out the 14 categories deals with cardiovascular system impairments.

Category 4 is divided into 8 subsections that each deal with a certain condition involving the cardiovascular system and how to evaluate them. Don’t worry if your condition isn’t listed in one of the subsections, you may potentially qualify for disability benefits depending on cardiovascular disorder. Below are the different subsections of section 4.

Bluebook Categories:

  • Aneurysm of the Aorta or Major Branches
  • Chronic heart failure
  • Chronic Venous Insufficiency
  • Heart Transplant
  • Ischemic Heart Disease
  • Peripheral Artery Disease (PAD)
  • Recurrent Arrhythmia
  • Symptomatic Congenital Heart Disease

Other Conditions evaluated under this category:

  • Blood Clots
  • Budd-Chiari Syndrome
  • Chest Pain
  • Cor Pulmonale Secondary Chronic Pulmonary Hypertension
  • Heart Attack
  • Heart Failure
  • Heart Valve Disorder
  • High Blood Pressure
  • High Cholesterol
  • Hypertension
  • Left Ventricular Assist Device
  • Marfan Syndrome
  • Mitral Valve Prolapse
  • Sinus Bradycardia
  • Syncope/Fainting