Skip to main content

Mental Disorders

The Social Security Administration developed the Blue Book to establish rules and guidelines for representatives to use while deciding if a certain condition qualifies for disability benefits. There are 14 categories within the Blue Book that groups together similar conditions and list the requirements for a condition to receive benefits. The twelfth category is about the different types of mental disorders.

Category 12 of the Blue Book has 9 subsections and each lists specific requirements for a type of mental disorder(s). If your mental disorder is not categorized in one of the sections, the Social Security Administration may still accept your mental disorder as long as it proves to inhibit your ability to perform work related tasks. Listed below are the 9 subsections:

Bluebook Categories:

  • Affective disorders
  • Anxiety Disorders
  • Autism and related disorders
  • Mental retardation
  • Organic Mental Disorders
  • Personality disorders
  • Schizophrenia, paranoia, and psychotic disorders
  • Somatoform disorders
  • Substance addiction

Other Conditions evaluated under this category:

  • Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder
  • Asperger's Syndrome
  • Bipolar Disorder
  • Chronic Insomnia
  • Depression
  • Drug Addiction
  • Dysthymia
  • Eating Disorders
  • Hallucinations
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Memory Loss
  • Mood Disorder
  • Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
  • Panic Attacks
  • Postpartum Depression
  • Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
  • Schizophrenia Disorder
  • Social Anxiety